ASIAN AUSTRALIAN LAWYERS ASSOCIATION, INC. REG NO. A0060052T (the Association)

Minutes of Victorian Branch Meeting

1. Details

Place:	Video conference via Zoom
Date:	Monday 28 November 2022
Time:	5:30pm AEDT
Quorum	The presence, physically, by proxy or electronically (Art 46) of 5 Members entitled to vote: Art 47.2 Quorum was achieved in accordance with Art 47.2

2. Agenda items

	ITEM	
1.	CREDENTIALING OF MEMBERS The membership status and eligibility to vote of each attendee at the Branch Meeting were verified by Kerry Truong, the Branch Returning Officer, and Jenny Au.	Branch Returning Officer and Jenny Au
2.	ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF COUNTRY	Branch Secretary
	Jenny Si, Victorian Branch Secretary of the Association gave an Acknowledgment of Country.	
3.	WELCOME AND APOLOGIES	Branch Secretary
	The Branch Secretary welcomed attendees to the 2022 Victorian Branch Meeting of the Association. An explanation of the voting procedure for ordinary resolutions and for any contested elections by secret ballot was given.	
4.	APPOINTMENT OF BRANCH MEETING CHAIR	Branch Secretary
	Motion: That the Branch Meeting appoint Jenny Si as Branch Meeting Chair.	
	Moved: Jenny Au	
	Seconded: Lily Sarkar	
	Carried	
5.	APPOINTMENT OF BRANCH RETURNING OFFICER	Chair
	Motion: That the Branch Meeting appoint Kerry Truong as Branch Returning Officer.	
	Moved: Jenny Au	
	Seconded: Jayr Teng	
	Carried	

	ITEM	
6.	CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF 2021 BRANCH MEETING	Chair
	The Minutes of the previous Branch Meeting was circulated to Branch Members present today with the Notice of Branch Meeting by email on 11 November 2022.	
	Motion: That the Branch Meeting confirm the minutes of the 2021 Branch Meeting as a true and correct record.	
	Moved: Kerry Truong	
	Seconded: Lily Sarkar	
	Carried	
7.	VICTORIAN BRANCH PRESIDENT REPORT	Branch President
	Kelvin Ng, Victorian Branch President of the Association gave a report on the activities of the Branch in 2022.	
	Motion: That the Branch Meeting accept the Branch President's Report.	
	Moved: Jenny Si	
	Seconded: Jenny Au	
	Carried	
8.	VICTORIAN BRANCH SECRETARY REPORT	Branch Secretary
	Jenny Si, Victorian Branch Secretary, provided a summary of the membership numbers in Victoria and nationally as at 11 November 2022x.	
	AA/AB - Lawyer or barrister admitted more than 3 years - 38 B - Lawyer or barrister admitted less than 3 years - 44 C - Law student / PLT student - 50 D - Non-lawyer associate (non-voting) - 2 E - Law firm - 35	
	Total - 169	
	Nationally Victoria - 169 New South Wales - 104 Western Australia - 67 South Australia - 81 Queensland - 77 Australian Capital Territory 77 (Other) - 73 Total AALA Members: 601	
	Motion: That the Branch Meeting accept the Branch Secretary's Report.	
	Moved: Kerry Truong	
	Seconded: Kelvin Ng	
	Carried	
9.	SETTING OF THE NUMBER OF ORDINARY BRANCH COMMITTEE MEMBERS	Chair
	The Victorian Branch Committee at its Committee Meeting on 9 November 2021 resolved to approve that the number of Ordinary Branch Members on the Branch Committee is 15 members.	
	Motion: That the Branch Meeting ratify the total number of Ordinary Branch Committee members at 15.	
	Moved: Jenny Au	

	ITEM	
	Seconded: Kelvin Ng Carried	
10.	ELECTION OF THE BRANCH COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR YEAR 2022- 23	Branch Returning Officer
	Declaration that all positions on the Branch Committee are vacant. Notice was given to each Branch Member on 11 November 2022 and specified the date, time and place of the Branch Meeting. Members were requested to attend Branch Meeting to elect the Victorian Branch Committee Members and consider any other items of business. The Notice included a copy of the Proxy Form for an appointment of a proxy and a Nomination Form.	
	Nominations closed at 5:00pm on Sunday 27 November 2022. The Branch Committee may comprise up to 15 Branch Committee Members, including the Branch President and Branch Secretary.	
	Twelve (12) Nominations were received: One (1) for Branch President Kelvin Ng One (1) for Branch Secretary Jenny Au Eight (8) for Ordinary Branch Committee Members Amber Meyer Jay (Jehan) Chandramohan Jayr Teng Jenny Si	
11.	DECLARATION OF ELECTED MEMBERS OF VICTORIAN BRANCH COMMITTEE 2022-2023 The positions of Branch President, Branch Secretary and Ordinary Branch	Branch Returning Officer
	Committee Members are elected unopposed. The Branch Returning Officer declared the elected Victorian Branch Committee for 2022/23 Financial Year is Kelvin Ng (Branch President), Jenny Au (Branch Secretary), Amber Meyer, Jay (Jehan) Chandramohan, Jayr Teng, Jenny Si, Lily Sarkar, Lizia Lim and Quynhi Nikki Doan	
	Motion: That the Branch Meeting ratify the results of the election of the 2022-2023 Branch Committee	
	Moved: Kerry Truong Seconded: Maggie Wang	
12.	Carried ANY OTHER ITEMS OF BUSINESS None	Chair
13.	CLOSE	Chair